string quartet n° 2 in memoriam Z.M.


- I.
- II.

Duration: 23 min.

Commissioned by the Pražák Quartet

Premiere: Pražák Quartet, August 2012, Festival Pablo Casals de Prades

Publisher: The Henry Lemoine Editions display more information on this work on

For more information, contact:
Henry Lemoine Editions – Paris
Mrs Laurence Fauvet - Rental and purchase of score / +33 (0) 1 56 68 86 75
Jobert Editions

Henry Lemoine Editions – Paris
Mr. Benoît Walther - Promotion and distribution service / +33 (0) 1 56 68 86 74
Jobert Editions

Extract from the score:

Notes on the work:

In 2011, the members of the Pražák Quartet encouraged me to write a new string quartet. This happened right after the death of a dear and loved person - my father. His ashes seem to permeate each gap of the score where the omnipresent inner intensity and lyricism make the instruments interact. These “dialogues” are composed of a succession of linked “tableaux” which, through their dramatic plot, reflect the direct experience of disappearance, abandonment and non-existence.
K. M.